National Council for Crime Prevention nominated for three-year term

17.9.2015 15.10 | Published in English on 14.11.2017 at 16.27
News item

The Council consists of the chair, District Prosecutor Eija Velitski and the deputy chair, National Police Commissioner Seppo Kolehmainen, and 16 members and their substitutes. The present term expires on September 30th, 2018.

The Council incorporates representatives of the central ministries, municipal government, criminological research, commercial and industrial life, and other organisations.

The National Council for Crime Prevention meets a few times a year. The meetings deal with matters of general relevance, and discuss central topics of crime prevention. The council has an executive committee, which meets as needed, and working groups for particular matters related to crime prevention. The activities are prepared and the daily routines of the Council are dealt with by the secretariat.

In the future term the strengthening of the basic information of the crime prevention and the developing of the local crime prevention work will be emphasised. A new national crime prevention programme will be drawn up. The objective of the programme is to promote a local part in the prevention of crimes and in the improvement of the inhabitants' safety and well-being.

» Members of the council