Organisation of the Council

Chair Sakari Melander and Executive Secretary Aarne Kinnunen

The National Council for Crime Prevention has a chairperson, a deputy chairperson and 15 members and their substitutes, appointed by the Government for a term of three years at a time. The term of the current Council runs from 1 December 2018 to 30 November 2021.

The Council membership consists of parties central to crime prevention, including ministries and State authorities, local government, the Church, business life, organisations involved in crime prevention, criminological research and social policy planning expertise.

The Council also has an Executive Committee and secretariat under its organisation.

The Council may appoint a sub-committee for the handling of crime prevention issues deemed to require long-term monitoring, preparation and expertise. Working groups may also be appointed to discuss specific issues on crime prevention.

More about the organisation and the activities of the subgroups

Members of the Council

Research Division